President Johann N. Schneider-Ammann

As the head of the Federal Department of Economic Affairs, Education and Research (EAER), President Johann N. Schneider-Ammann is one of the seven members of the Federal Council, Switzerland’s executive body.

The EAER comprises two state secretariats, three federal offices and a number of other agencies. The State Secretariat for Economic Affairs (SECO) is the federal government’s centre of expertise for all core issues relating to the economy and trade policy. As the head of the EAER, President Johann N. Schneider-Ammann is responsible for ensuring that Switzerland is optimally positioned in its foreign economic policy. On a multilateral level, our involvement in the World Trade Organization (WTO) is a major focus. Additionally, Switzerland secures its interests through free trade agreements. On a national level, the EAER puts in place a regulatory framework and creates economic policy conditions that provide promising prospects for Swiss businesses and foreign companies in Switzerland. Another main aim is to establish a fertile environment for job creation through flexible labour market conditions. One of the priorities in this area is to facilitate labour market access for young people, women and older employees in particular.

EAER head Johann N. Schneider-Ammann is also in charge of the State Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation (SERI). The three areas managed by this Secretariat – education, research and innovation – are of central importance to our society and Switzerland’s economic performance. Working in close cooperation with the cantons and, in part, with the private sector, the education system is designed on all levels to ensure there are no ‘dead-end qualifications’ and that different needs in vocational education, universities of applied sciences, cantonal universities and the ETH Domain are met. International cooperation in research programmes, as well as the Swiss Space Office – which is an important partner for industry – are also essential.

Additionally, the Federal Office for Agriculture is also part of the EAER. The 2014-2017 agricultural policy Johann N. Schneider-Ammann is pursuing has set four priorities: ensuring secure food production, optimising the use of resources, strengthening the vitality of rural areas and promoting entrepreneurship in the agriculture and food industries. Rounding off the wide array of tasks handled in this department are questions relating to national economic supply and housing which are handled by the relevant federal offices.

Before taking over as head of the EAER on 1 November 2010, Johann N. Schneider-Ammann was a member of the National Council for eleven years for the FDP.The Liberals, where he served on the Economic Affairs and Taxation Committee.

President Schneider-Ammann was born in 1952 and has a degree in electrical engineering from the ETH Zurich. Before he became a member of the Federal Council, he was president and delegate of the Ammann Group. Johann N. Schneider-Ammann is married and has two adult children.

Last modification 27.04.2016

Top of page

Contact

EAER Information Service

Parliament Building East
3003 Bern
Switzerland

Tel.
+41584622007

Email

Print contact

https://www.wbf.admin.ch/content/wbf/en/home/das-wbf/johann-n-schneider-ammann/portraet.html

Bundesrat Johann N. Schneider-Ammann

Als Vorsteher des Eidgenössischen Departements für Wirtschaft, Bildung und Forschung (WBF) ist Bundesrat Johann N. Schneider-Ammann eines der sieben Mitglieder des Bundesrates, der Exekutive der Schweiz.

Das WBF besteht aus zwei Staatssekretariaten, drei Bundesämtern und weiteren Verwaltungsstellen. Das Staatssekretariat für Wirtschaft (SECO) ist das Kompetenzzentrum der Schweizer Regierung für alle Kernbelange im Zusammenhang mit Wirtschaftsangelegenheiten und Handelspolitik. Als Vorsteher des WBF ist Bundespräsident Johann N. Schneider-Ammann verantwortlich für eine optimale aussenwirtschaftspolitische Positionierung der Schweiz. Auf multilateraler Ebene steht das Engagement im Rahmen der Welthandelsorganisation (WTO) im Vordergrund. Gleichzeitig sichert die Schweiz ihre Interessen auf der Basis von bilateralen Freihandelsabkommen. Auf nationaler Ebene schafft das WBF einen Regulierungsrahmen und wirtschaftspolitische Bedingungen, die schweizerischen und in der Schweiz ansässigen ausländischen Unternehmen Zukunftsperspektiven ermöglichen. Ein Hauptziel ist es zudem, mit flexiblen Arbeitsmarktbedingungen ein günstiges Umfeld für die Schaffung von Arbeitsplätzen zu ermöglichen. Dabei  gehört der erleichterte Arbeitsmarktzugang für Junge, Frauen und ältere Arbeitnehmende zu den Prioritäten.

Das Staatssekretariat für Bildung, Forschung und Innovation (SBFI) befindet sich ebenfalls im Verantwortungsbereich von WBF-Vorsteher Johann N. Schneider-Ammann. Die drei Bereiche Bildung, Forschung und Innovation sind für unsere Gesellschaft und die wirtschaftliche Leistungsfähigkeit der Schweiz äusserst wichtig. In enger Zusammenarbeit mit den Kantonen und teilweise auch mit der Wirtschaft wird die Bildung auf allen Stufen so gestaltet, dass es keinen Abschluss ohne Anschluss gibt und die vielfältigsten Bedürfnisse sowohl in der Berufsbildung wie auch in Fachhochschulen, Universitäten und dem ETH-Bereich abgedeckt werden. Zentral sind auch die internationale Zusammenarbeit im Rahmen von Forschungsprogrammen sowie die Abteilung Raumfahrt, die auch für die Industrie eine wichtige Partnerin ist.

Darüber hinaus gehört das Bundesamt für Landwirtschaft zum WBF. Mit der «Agrarpolitik 2014-2017» will WBF-Vorsteher Johann N. Schneider-Ammann vier Schwerpunkte umsetzen: sichere Nahrungsmittelproduktion, effiziente Nutzung der Ressourcen, vitaler ländlicher Raum sowie Unternehmertum in der Land- und Ernährungswirtschaft. Fragen der wirtschaftlichen Landesversorgung und des Wohnungswesens mit den zuständigen Bundesämtern runden das breite Tätigkeitsfeld des Departements ab.

Vor der Übernahme seiner Position als Vorsteher des WBF am 1. November 2010 gehörte Johann N. Schneider-Ammann während elf Jahren als Mitglied der FDP.Die Liberalen dem Nationalrat an. Während dieser Zeit war er Mitglied der Kommission für Wirtschaft und Abgaben.

Bundesrsat Schneider-Ammann wurde 1952 geboren und ist Elektroingenieur (Dipl. El. Ing. ETH). Vor seiner Wahl in den Bundesrat war er Präsident und Delegierter der Ammann Gruppe. Johann N. Schneider-Ammann ist verheiratet und Vater zweier erwachsener Kinder.


Letzte Änderung 08.02.2017

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Kommunikationsdienst GS-WBF

Bundeshaus Ost
3003 Bern
Schweiz

Tel.
+41584622007

E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.wbf.admin.ch/content/wbf/de/home/das-wbf/johann-n-schneider-ammann/portraet.html