Free trade

Switzerland needs access to international markets, which is why free trade agreements are essential to strengthen Switzerland’s competitiveness as a location for business.

Today, in addition to the EFTA Convention and the Free Trade Agreement with the EU, Switzerland has 28 free trade agreements with 38 partners outside the EU. These agreements serve to improve the conditions for economic relations with economically important partners.

One of the most recent and important agreements is that with China, the third largest market for Swiss industrial products, and one of Switzerland’s key foreign economic partners.

The network of free trade agreements continually needs to be developed. The most recent examples are the agreements concluded with India, Thailand and Indonesia. Negotiations are currently under way on a further nine free trade agreements.

Switzerland's foreign economic policy is based on the framework provided by the WTO, which is therefore its most important partner in terms of free trade. The World Trade Organization provides the foundation for cross-border trade relations between states at a global level. It manages and monitors a total of around 30 multilateral agreements aimed at the progressive liberalisation of international trade.

Last modification 25.02.2019

Top of page

Contact

EAER Information Service

Federal Palace East Wing
3003 Bern
Switzerland

Tel.
+41584622007

Email

Print contact

https://www.wbf.admin.ch/content/wbf/en/home/themen/arbeitsplaetze/freihandel.html

Freihandel

Die Schweiz braucht Zugang zu internationalen Märkten. Daher sind Freihandelsabkommen zur Stärkung der Wettberwerbsfähigkeit des Wirtschaftsstandorts Schweiz essentiell.

Die Liste der Freihandelsabkommen der Schweiz umfasst heute – neben der EFTA-Konvention und dem Freihandelsabkommen mit der EU – 28 Freihandelsabkommen mit 38 Partnern ausserhalb der EU. Diese Abkommen dienen zur Verbesserung der Rahmenbedingungen für Wirtschaftsbeziehungen mit wirtschaftlich bedeutenden Partnern.

Zu den neusten und wichtigsten Abkommen gehört jenes mit China, als drittgrösster Abnehmer Schweizer Industieprodukten, einem der zentralen Aussenwirtschaftspartner der Schweiz.

Das Freihandelsnetz gilt es laufend weiterzuentwickeln. Wie dies zum Beispiel mit Abkommen mit Indien, Thailand und Indonesien der Fall ist. Insgesamt werden zurzeit 9 Freihandelsabkommen verhandelt.  

Grundlage der schweizerischen Aussenwirtschaftspolitik und somit wichtigster Partner bezüglich Freihandel ist die WTO. Die Welthandelsorganisation bildet das Fundament der grenzüberschreitenden Handelsbeziehungen der Staaten auf globaler Ebene. Sie verwaltet und überwacht insgesamt rund 30 multilaterale Abkommen, welche auf eine schrittweise Liberalisierung des internationalen Handels abzielen.

Letzte Änderung 15.12.2015

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Kommunikationsdienst GS-WBF

Bundeshaus Ost
3003 Bern
Schweiz

Tel.
+41584622007

E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.wbf.admin.ch/content/wbf/de/home/themen/arbeitsplaetze/freihandel.html