Free trade

Switzerland needs access to international markets, which is why free trade agreements are essential to strengthen Switzerland’s competitiveness as a location for business.

In addition to the EFTA Convention and the Free Trade Agreement with the European Union (EU) of 1972, Switzerland currently has a network of 32 free trade agreements (FTAs) with 42 partners. Switzerland normally concludes its FTAs together with its partners Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein, in the framework of the European Free Trade Association (EFTA). Nevertheless, Switzerland has the possibility to enter into FTAs outside the EFTA framework as well, as it has been the case of Japan and China.

Switzerland is a country that is strongly integrated into the global economy and whose economy is characterised by a pronounced international orientation. Although the Swiss market, home to some 8.5 million people, is undoubtedly important, its size is ultimately limited. Much of our prosperity thus depends on the international trade in goods and services as well as on cross-border investment activities. Without the ability to sell to foreign markets, Swiss companies’ potential for growth would be limited. Continuously improving access to foreign markets is therefore an important objective of Switzerland’s foreign economic policy.

A worldwide liberalisation and simplification of trade is the best way to achieve this goal. Switzerland pursues this approach multilaterally within the framework of the World Trade Organisation (WTO). The WTO sets the basic rules for cross-border trade, which many countries supplement by signing bi- or plurilateral, regional or supraregional free trade agreements. Switzerland is also pursuing a very active free trade policy. By entering into free trade agreements, Switzerland aims to provide its companies with a level of access to international markets that is at least equivalent to those enjoyed by its most important foreign competitors (such as the EU, the USA and Japan), which are also expanding their networks of free trade agreements. Free trade agreements are therefore an important instrument in maintaining and strengthening Switzerland’s competitiveness as a place to do business.

As part of a coherent foreign policy, it is important that sustainable development goals are reflected in foreign economic policy as well. The Federal Council is aiming for a “win-win” situation that is designed to facilitate growth consistent with these goals in both Switzerland and its partner countries. Switzerland therefore makes legally binding provisions on environmental and labor protection an integral part of its free trade agreements.

The Federal Council’s foreign economic strategy stipulates four criteria for selecting potential free trade partners:

  1. The current and potential economic importance of a prospective partner;
  2. The extent of existing or potential discrimination resulting from free trade agreements between the prospective partner and major competitors of Switzerland;
  3. The willingness of the prospective partner to enter into negotiations and the corresponding prospects for success;
  4. Other considerations, such as how a free trade agreement is likely to contribute towards the economic stabilisation and development of a prospective partner or its general compatibility with Swiss foreign policy objectives.

Last modification 23.04.2021

Top of page

Contact

EAER Information Service

Federal Palace East Wing
3003 Bern
Switzerland

Tel.
+41584622007

Email

Print contact

https://www.wbf.admin.ch/content/wbf/en/home/themen/wirtschaftspolitik/freihandel.html

Freihandel

Die Schweiz braucht Zugang zu internationalen Märkten. Daher sind Freihandelsabkommen zur Stärkung der Wettberwerbsfähigkeit des Wirtschaftsstandorts Schweiz essentiell.

Die Schweiz verfügt - neben der EFTA-Konvention und dem Freihandelsabkommen mit der Europäischen Union (EU) - gegenwärtig über ein Netz von 32 Freihandelsabkommen mit 42 Partnern. Die Abkommen werden normalerweise im Rahmen der Europäischen Freihandelsassoziation (EFTA) abgeschlossen. Dennoch hat die Schweiz die Möglichkeit, Freihandelsabkommen auch ausserhalb der EFTA abzuschliessen, wie beispielsweise im Fall Japans oder Chinas.

Die Schweiz ist ein stark in die Weltwirtschaft eingebundenes Land, dessen Wirtschaft sich durch eine ausgeprägte internationale Orientierung auszeichnet. Mit seinen rund 8.5 Millionen Einwohnerinnen und Einwohnern ist der Schweizer Markt zwar wichtig, aber letztlich auch beschränkt. Unser Wohlstand hängt deshalb zu einem grossen Teil vom internationalen Handel von Gütern und Dienstleistungen sowie von der grenzüberschreitenden Investitionstätigkeit ab. Die stete Verbesserung des Zugangs zu ausländischen Märkten ist deshalb ein Ziel der schweizerischen Aussenwirtschaftspolitik.

Das beste Mittel, dieses Ziel zu erreichen, ist eine weltweite Liberalisierung und Vereinfachung des Handels. Diesen multilateralen Ansatz verfolgt die Schweiz im Rahmen der Welthandelsorganisation (WTO). Die WTO legt die Grundregeln des grenzüberschreitenden Handels fest. Mit dem Abschluss von Freihandelsabkommen zielt die Schweiz darauf ab, ihren Unternehmen einen Zugang zu internationalen Märkten zu verschaffen, der mindestens gleichwertig ist wie jener, von dem ihre wichtigsten ausländischen Konkurrenten (wie die EU, die USA und Japan) profitieren, welche ebenfalls ihre Netze von Freihandelsabkommen ausdehnen. Freihandelsabkommen sind deshalb ein wichtiges Instrument zur Aufrechterhaltung und Stärkung der Wettbewerbsfähigkeit des Wirtschaftsstandortes Schweiz. Im Rahmen einer kohärenten Aussenpolitik ist es wichtig, den Zielen der nachhaltigen Entwicklung auch in der Aussenwirtschaftspolitik gerecht zu werden. Gemäss der Aussenwirtschaftsstrategie des Bundesrates stehen für die Auswahl von möglichen Freihandelspartnern vier Kriterien im Vordergrund:

  1. die aktuelle und potenzielle wirtschaftliche Bedeutung eines möglichen Partners;
  2. das Ausmass bestehender oder potenzieller Diskriminierungen, die sich aus Freihandelsabkommen eines möglichen Partners mit wichti­gen Konkurrenten der Schweiz ergeben;
  3. die Verhandlungsbereitschaft des möglichen Partners und die entsprechenden Erfolgsaussichten;
  4. weitere Erwägungen wie z.B. der zu erwartende Beitrag eines Freihandelsabkommens zur wirt­schaftlichen Stabilisierung und Entwicklung eines möglichen Partners oder generell die Übereinstimmung mit den Zielen der schweizerischen Aussenpolitik.

Letzte Änderung 09.03.2021

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Kommunikationsdienst GS-WBF

Bundeshaus Ost
3003 Bern
Schweiz

Tel.
+41584622007

E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.wbf.admin.ch/content/wbf/de/home/themen/wirtschaftspolitik/freihandel.html