President Johann N. Schneider-Ammann

As the head of the Federal Department of Economic Affairs, Education and Research (EAER), President Johann N. Schneider-Ammann is one of the seven members of the Federal Council, Switzerland’s executive body.

The EAER comprises two state secretariats, three federal offices and a number of other agencies. The State Secretariat for Economic Affairs (SECO) is the federal government’s centre of expertise for all core issues relating to the economy and trade policy. As the head of the EAER, President Johann N. Schneider-Ammann is responsible for ensuring that Switzerland is optimally positioned in its foreign economic policy. On a multilateral level, our involvement in the World Trade Organization (WTO) is a major focus. Additionally, Switzerland secures its interests through free trade agreements. On a national level, the EAER puts in place a regulatory framework and creates economic policy conditions that provide promising prospects for Swiss businesses and foreign companies in Switzerland. Another main aim is to establish a fertile environment for job creation through flexible labour market conditions. One of the priorities in this area is to facilitate labour market access for young people, women and older employees in particular.

EAER head Johann N. Schneider-Ammann is also in charge of the State Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation (SERI). The three areas managed by this Secretariat – education, research and innovation – are of central importance to our society and Switzerland’s economic performance. Working in close cooperation with the cantons and, in part, with the private sector, the education system is designed on all levels to ensure there are no ‘dead-end qualifications’ and that different needs in vocational education, universities of applied sciences, cantonal universities and the ETH Domain are met. International cooperation in research programmes, as well as the Swiss Space Office – which is an important partner for industry – are also essential.

Additionally, the Federal Office for Agriculture is also part of the EAER. The 2014-2017 agricultural policy Johann N. Schneider-Ammann is pursuing has set four priorities: ensuring secure food production, optimising the use of resources, strengthening the vitality of rural areas and promoting entrepreneurship in the agriculture and food industries. Rounding off the wide array of tasks handled in this department are questions relating to national economic supply and housing which are handled by the relevant federal offices.

Before taking over as head of the EAER on 1 November 2010, Johann N. Schneider-Ammann was a member of the National Council for eleven years for the FDP.The Liberals, where he served on the Economic Affairs and Taxation Committee.

President Schneider-Ammann was born in 1952 and has a degree in electrical engineering from the ETH Zurich. Before he became a member of the Federal Council, he was president and delegate of the Ammann Group. Johann N. Schneider-Ammann is married and has two adult children.

Last modification 27.04.2016

Top of page

Contact

EAER Information Service

Parliament Building East
3003 Bern
Switzerland

Tel.
+41584622007

Email

Print contact

https://www.wbf.admin.ch/content/wbf/en/home/das-wbf/johann-n-schneider-ammann/portraet.html

Le conseiller fédéral Johann N. Schneider-Ammann

En sa qualité de chef du Département fédéral de l'économie, de la formation et de la recherche (DEFR), le conseiller fédéral Johann N. Schneider-Ammann est l'un des sept membres du Conseil fédéral, l'autorité qui exerce le pouvoir exécutif en Suisse.

Le DEFR comprend deux secrétariats d'Etat, trois offices fédéraux et d'autres unités administratives. Le Secrétariat d'Etat à l'économie (SECO) est le centre de compétences du gouvernement suisse pour toutes les questions d'économie et de politique commerciale. A la tête du DEFR, le conseiller fédéral Johann N. Schneider-Ammann est chargé d'assurer un positionnement optimal de la Suisse en termes de politique économique extérieure. Au niveau multilatéral, l'engagement au sein de l'Organisation mondiale du commerce (OMC) revêt un caractère prioritaire. La Suisse garantit parallèlement ses intérêts en concluant des accords de libre-échange bilatéraux. Au niveau national, le DEFR met en place un cadre réglementaire et crée des conditions économiques permettant aux entreprises domestiques et aux entreprises étrangères établies en Suisse de se développer. L'un de ses objectifs principaux consiste à instaurer un environnement favorable à la création d'emplois en introduisant davantage de souplesse sur le marché du travail et en facilitant l'accès des jeunes, des femmes et des travailleurs âgés au marché de l'emploi.

Le Secrétariat d'Etat à la formation, à la recherche et à l'innovation (SEFRI) relève aussi du chef du DEFR. Les trois domaines que sont la formation, la recherche et l'innovation sont de première importance pour notre société et la compétitivité économique de la Suisse. En étroite collaboration avec les cantons et, dans certains cas, avec le secteur privé, la formation est conçue selon le principe de la perméabilité, de sorte que le système couvre tous les besoins, dans la formation professionnelle comme dans les HES, les universités et le domaine des EPF. La collaboration internationale dans le cadre des programmes de recherche ainsi que les affaires spatiales - partenaire de poids de l'industrie - sont également d'une importance cruciale.

L'Office fédéral de l'agriculture fait, lui aussi, partie du DEFR. Dans le cadre de la Politique agricole 2014-2017, Johann N. Schneider-Ammann entend articuler son action autour des quatre grands axes suivants: production sûre des denrées alimentaires, gestion efficace des ressources, vitalité de l'espace rural, esprit d'entreprise dans l'agriculture et la filière alimentaire. Enfin, le large champ d'activité du département est complété par les questions relatives à l'approvisionnement économique du pays et au logement, qui sont prises en charge par les offices correspondants.

Avant de prendre la tête du DEFR, le 1er novembre 2010, Johann N. Schneider-Ammann a été pendant onze ans conseiller national sous la bannière des libéraux-radicaux et membre de la Commission de l'économie et des redevances (CER).

Né en 1952, le conseiller fédéral Johann N. Schneider-Ammann est ingénieur de formation (diplôme d'ingénieur en électricité EPFZ). Avant son élection au Conseil fédéral, il était président et administrateur délégué du groupe Ammann. Il est marié et père de deux enfants adultes.


Dernière modification 07.06.2017

Début de la page

Contact

Service de la communication SG-DEFR

Palais fédéral est
3003 Berne
Suisse

Tél.
+41584622007

E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.wbf.admin.ch/content/wbf/fr/home/das-wbf/johann-n-schneider-ammann/portraet.html