Free trade

Switzerland needs access to international markets, which is why free trade agreements are essential to strengthen Switzerland’s competitiveness as a location for business.

In addition to the EFTA Convention and the Free Trade Agreement with the European Union (EU) of 1972, Switzerland currently has a network of 32 free trade agreements (FTAs) with 42 partners. Switzerland normally concludes its FTAs together with its partners Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein, in the framework of the European Free Trade Association (EFTA). Nevertheless, Switzerland has the possibility to enter into FTAs outside the EFTA framework as well, as it has been the case of Japan and China.

Switzerland is a country that is strongly integrated into the global economy and whose economy is characterised by a pronounced international orientation. Although the Swiss market, home to some 8.5 million people, is undoubtedly important, its size is ultimately limited. Much of our prosperity thus depends on the international trade in goods and services as well as on cross-border investment activities. Without the ability to sell to foreign markets, Swiss companies’ potential for growth would be limited. Continuously improving access to foreign markets is therefore an important objective of Switzerland’s foreign economic policy.

A worldwide liberalisation and simplification of trade is the best way to achieve this goal. Switzerland pursues this approach multilaterally within the framework of the World Trade Organisation (WTO). The WTO sets the basic rules for cross-border trade, which many countries supplement by signing bi- or plurilateral, regional or supraregional free trade agreements. Switzerland is also pursuing a very active free trade policy. By entering into free trade agreements, Switzerland aims to provide its companies with a level of access to international markets that is at least equivalent to those enjoyed by its most important foreign competitors (such as the EU, the USA and Japan), which are also expanding their networks of free trade agreements. Free trade agreements are therefore an important instrument in maintaining and strengthening Switzerland’s competitiveness as a place to do business.

As part of a coherent foreign policy, it is important that sustainable development goals are reflected in foreign economic policy as well. The Federal Council is aiming for a “win-win” situation that is designed to facilitate growth consistent with these goals in both Switzerland and its partner countries. Switzerland therefore makes legally binding provisions on environmental and labor protection an integral part of its free trade agreements.

The Federal Council’s foreign economic strategy stipulates four criteria for selecting potential free trade partners:

  1. The current and potential economic importance of a prospective partner;
  2. The extent of existing or potential discrimination resulting from free trade agreements between the prospective partner and major competitors of Switzerland;
  3. The willingness of the prospective partner to enter into negotiations and the corresponding prospects for success;
  4. Other considerations, such as how a free trade agreement is likely to contribute towards the economic stabilisation and development of a prospective partner or its general compatibility with Swiss foreign policy objectives.

Last modification 23.04.2021

Top of page

Contact

EAER Information Service

Federal Palace East Wing
3003 Bern
Switzerland

Tel.
+41584622007

Email

Print contact

https://www.wbf.admin.ch/content/wbf/en/home/themen/wirtschaftspolitik/freihandel.html

Libre-échange

Pour garantir son accès aux marchés internationaux, la place économique suisse doit renforcer sa compétitivité au moyen d’accords de libre-échange.

La Suisse dispose actuellement, outre la Convention AELE et l'accord de libre-échange avec l'Union européenne (UE), d'un réseau de 32 accords de libre-échange avec 42 partenaires. Les accords de libre-échange sont normalement conclus dans le cadre de l'Association européenne de libre-échange (AELE). Toutefois, la Suisse a la possibilité de conclure des accords de libre-échange en dehors de l'AELE, comme ce fut par exemple le cas pour le Japon ou la Chine.

La Suisse est un pays fortement intégré dans l'économie mondiale dont l'économie se caractérise par une forte orientation internationale. Avec ses quelques 8,5 millions d'habitants, le marché suisse est important tout en étant limité. Notre prospérité dépend donc en grande partie des échanges commerciaux de biens et de services ainsi que des investissements internationaux. L'amélioration constante de l'accès aux marchés étrangers est par conséquent un objectif important de la politique économique extérieure de la Suisse.

Le meilleur moyen d'y parvenir est de libéraliser et de faciliter le commerce mondial. La Suisse poursuit cette approche multilatéralement dans le cadre de l'Organisation mondiale du commerce (OMC). L'OMC fixe les règles de base du commerce transfrontalier. Par la conclusion d'accords de libre-échange, la Suisse vise à garantir à ses entreprises un accès aux marchés internationaux au moins équivalent à celui dont bénéficient ses principaux concurrents étrangers (comme l'UE, les États-Unis et le Japon) qui se sont eux aussi mis à renforcer leurs réseaux d'accords de libre-échange. Dans le cadre d'une politique étrangère cohérente, il est toutefois essentiel que les objectifs du développement durable se reflètent également dans la politique économique étrangère. Le Conseil fédéral s'efforce de créer une situation gagnante qui doit permettre une croissance cohérente avec les objectifs du développement durable tant en Suisse que dans les pays partenaires. Selon la stratégie de politique économique extérieure du Conseil fédéral, il y a quatre critères pour le choix d'un possible partenaire de libre-échange:

  1. L’importance économique actuelle et potentielle d'un partenaire éventuel;
  2. L’ampleur des discriminations existantes ou potentielles qui résulteraient d'accords de libre-échange entre le partenaire éventuel et d'importants concurrents de la Suisse;
  3. La volonté du partenaire éventuel à négocier et les perspectives de succès;
  4. D’autres considérations comme par exemple la contribution escomptée d'un accord de libre-échange à la stabilisation et au développement économiques d'un éventuel partenaire ou de manière générale la cohérence avec les objectifs de la politique extérieure de la Suisse. 

Dernière modification 23.04.2021

Début de la page

Contact

Service de la communication SG-DEFR

Palais fédéral est
3003 Berne
Suisse

Tél.
+41584622007

E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.wbf.admin.ch/content/wbf/fr/home/themen/wirtschaftspolitik/freihandel.html